WALLER COUNTY TAX OFFICE

Vehicle Registration

730 9th St.
Hempstead, Tx 77445
Phone: (979) 826-7620
Fax: (979) 826-7619


WHERE DO I GET MY CAR REGISTERED?
If you have a renewal notice for the current or the next two months, you can register online via Motor Vehicle Registration Renewal, visit one of our tax office Locations, or you can mail your renewal notice, insurance and check to:

Waller County Tax Office
730 9th St
Hempstead, TX 77445

If you do not have a renewal notice, you can register at any of our tax office locations or by mail with your license plate number, insurance and check. You may e-mail t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us.com to obtain the correct registration fee amount.

WHAT IS THE MAILING FEE AND MAILING ADDRES FOR WALLER COUNTY RENEWALS?
Add $1.00 fee for mailing.

Waller County Tax Office
730 9th St
Hempstead, TX 77445

I'VE JUST MOVED TO WALLER COUNTY FROM WITHIN TEXAS. HOW DO I REGISTER MY VEHICLE?
Welcome! Visit one of our tax office locations, register online, contact us at t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us, or call us at (979) 826-7620.

I'VE JUST MOVED TO WALLER COUNTY FROM OUT OF STATE. HOW DO I REGISTER MY VEHICLE?
Welcome! Out of State registrations are complicated. For the required documents select one of the following options:

1) E-mail us at t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us
2 ) Or Call (979) 826 7620 to request that a packet be mailed to you.

WHAT IS THE STATE PENALTY FOR LATE VEHICLE REGISTRATION?
State law states that if you received a citation for expired registration, there is a 20% penalty added to your registration fee.

I'VE LOST MY CURRENT RENEWAL STICKER. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
Bring in your plate or VIN number to get a replacement sticker for $5.30

WHAT DO I DO WITH THE RENEWAL NOTICE I RECEIVED FOR A VEHICLE THAT I NO LONGER OWN?
Obtain a Transfer Notation Form (VTR-346) from the Texas Department of Transportation website to fill out and mail to the address on the form. This will relieve you of responsibility for the vehicle and flag the official record for the vehicle with the remark vehicle transferred.

HOW DO I REGISTER A VEHICLE THAT BELONGS TO SOMEONE ELSE?
You will need the following:

  • The title or a power of attorney referencing the vehicle, authorized person, and whether a ticket for expired registration has been received.
  • Photocopy of the titled owner's driver's license.
  • Proof of current liability insurance meeting Texas coverage requirements. ($20,000-$40,000-$15,000)
  • Cash or check for the registration fee.


  • Call (979) 826-7620 during business hours or e-mail t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us for additional information.

    IF I REGISTER MY CAR, WILL I GET ARRESTED IF THERE'S A WARRENT OUT FOR ME?
    No. The Tax Office is not a law enforcement agency.

    HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE FOR AN ADDRESS CHANGE TO BE PROCESSED?
    Address changes are done through the Texas Online and will normally appear within 48 hours.

    WHERE DO I REGISTER NOW THAT I NO LONGER LIVE IN WALLER COUNTY?
    You must register at the County Tax Assessor-Collector's Office where you now reside.

    MUST I GET NEW PLATES WHEN MY OLD ONES ARE FINE?
    Yes. New plates are mandatory if your plates are 7 years old. After 6 years the plates lose their safety reflective qualities.

    HOW DO I GET A HANDICAP REGISTRATION FOR MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE?
    You must have an original written prescription indicating the nature of the disability as being mobility or non-mobility, temporary or permanent from a Texas licensed physician, or you can request Form VTR-214 from the Texas Department of Transportation. Complete and sing the top portion of this form including the TX driver's license number or TX ID Card number of the disabled person. (If the disabled person does not have one, then the TX driver's license number of the person doing most of the transporting is acceptable). The bottom portion of Form VTR-214 must be filled out, signed by a TX licensed physician and notarized. Take this or mail this with the fee to one of our tax office locations. You may get 1 placard and 1 set of plates, or 2 placards and no plates. Placards are $5.00 for temp and no cost for permanent; plates are $1.30 each. If you need additional information contact us at:
    t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us

    Mailing Address
    Waller County Tax Office:
    730 9th St.
    Hempstead, TX 77445

    WHAT IS THE E-MAIL ADDRESS FOR AND MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION QUESTIONS NOT COVERED ABOVE?
    t.schovajsa@wallercounty.us